5 stages of the spiritual journey

Starts with controlling the outer world and ends with enlightenment.

cal. 580 (this article)

Operationally, the spiritual journey is non-linear, but for the sake of simplicity it is presented as five stages.

stage 1: control the outer world (ego)

Get food, shelter, sex, money, success, experiences, ownership, prosperity, status, authority, followers, fame, political power, etc. Note that none of these are inherently negative, however, in the beginning they are pursued blindly in fear (of missing out), desire, anger (dominance), and pride, and overvalued as life's purpose due to ignorance of spiritual reality.

Member discussion

The comments section is for paying subscribers only

Upgrade to a paid account

Already have an account? Sign in